Adrian’s Law



UPDATE: Adrian’s Law has passed Kansas

legislation in both the House & Senate!


Adrian Jones was not only neglected by his parents, he was also greatly neglected by the states of Kansas and Missouri. For years, social workers, doctors, therapists, juvenile and police officers ignored Adrian’s cries for help and turned the other cheek to his horrendous abuse. Adrian’s death can’t be in vain. Lessons need to be learned and laws need to change.

Adrian’s Law would put in place a special court appointed advocate for every child in the Kansas DCFS system. The advocate would spend time with the child, oversee the case through its entire duration and speak in the sole interest of that child in court. The advocate would assist social workers and make sure all of the child’s needs are being met which would prevent any child from slipping through the cracks like little Adrian did. This would save the lives of countless children in the system and give them a voice in court instead of relying solely on their overloaded caseworker.

Your support is needed to get Adrian’s Law passed. Below are the contacts for each Representative, please reach out to all of them expressing your support for House Bill 2187 (Adrian’s Law.) You do not have to be a Kansas resident. You can express anything you want to, or you don’t even have to give a reason at all just to let them know you support it. A simple phone call or email stating “Please pass HB 1287 into law” or “Please support HB 1287” will work great. Please, take the time out of your day to contact them. Once we get this passed in Kansas, we can start in Missouri and other states. After you have reached out to the legislators, if you can, please share this page.

Read the full bill HERE
Read the fiscal note HERE

Representative Bill Rhiley – Wellington

785-296-7671

Bill.Rhiley@house.ks.gov

Representative Suzi Carlson – Clay Center

785-296-7654

Suzi.Carlson@house.ks.gov

Representative Randy Garber – Sabetha

785-296-7688

Randy.Garber@house.ks.gov

Committee Chair: Representative Susan Concannon – Beloit

785-296-7644

Susan.Concanon@house.ks.gov

Representative Susan Ruiz – Shawnee

785-296-7482

Susan.Ruiz@house.ks.gov

Representative Diana Dierks – Salina

785-296-7642

Diana.Dierks@house.ks.gov

Representative Nancy Lusk – Overland Park

785-296-7651

Nancy.Lusk@house.ks.gov

Vice Chair: Representative Susan Humphries – Witchita

785-296-7699

Susan.Humphries@house.ks.gov

Representative Paul Waggoner – Hutchison

785-296-7196

Paul.Waggoner@house.ks.gov

Representative Charlotte Esau – Olathe

785-296-7688

Charlotte.Esau@house.ks.gov

Representative Leonard Mastroni – LaCrosse

785-296-7396

Leonard.Mastroni@house.ks.gov

Ranking Minority Member: Representative Jarrod Ousley – Merriam

785-296-7366

Jarrod.Ousley@house.ks.gov

I’ve received alot of questions about videos about Adrian’s Law some of you may have previously seen on YouTube. These are past versions of Adrian’s Law. Both of these acts passed the House but died in the Senate. They are separate from the current bill. Neither one were written into law.

  •  
  •